Bishop calls on managers to take journalists’ case seriously

Bishop of Ripon and Leeds John Packer has added his voice to the criticism of Johnston Press managers over the strike.

In an e-mail message of support to the journalists, he said: “I am writing to express my support for all the journalists and staff on Yorkshire Post Newspapers.   I have today written to John Fry and Chris Green, expressing my dismay at the decision to make 18 members of staff redundant.

“In my letter to them I have said that, from my own experience, the two titles are greatly valued in our region, and it is regretful that key skilled and experienced staff,  including members of the photography team are threatened with the loss of their jobs.  This can only be bad news for the Yorkshire Post and Yorkshire Evening Post.

“Having met, and been interviewed  by a number of the journalists who have taken strike action, I know you would not have voted to do so without genuine and deeply held concerns and I have asked them to take your case seriously and meet to discuss your concerns.”

Leave a Reply

